2023-06-20  |  


[Photo via VCG]

The first Desafio China by La Vuelta-Beijing Changping cycling competition ended in the Future Science City on June 18. More than 1,700 professional riders and cycling enthusiasts from all over the world participated in the two-day competition in Beijing's Changping District to experience the profound cultural and humanistic charm of Changping.

The Spanish race’s maiden event in China coincides with this year’s 50th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between China and Spain. The competition further boosted people’s enthusiasm for cycling, which is of great significance in branding Changping District as one part of the international exchanges center of Beijing, building an international sports consumption center and promoting the construction of "Two Zones".

At the opening ceremony of the event, Gan Jingzhong, the Party Secretary of the CPC Changping District Committee accepted the La Vuelta championship shirt presented to Changping District by an official of Desafio China by La Vuelta on behalf of Changping District.

In the men's individual criterium, Hu Zhichao from Xi'an, Shaanxi Province, Shi Kuan from Beijing and Hu Yang from Beijing won first, second and third place respectively. The top three winners in women's individual criterium were Du Jingwen from Tianjin, Ge Jiawen from Shanghai and Zhao Wenzhu from Shanghai.

In the highlighted road race, the top three places in the men's category were won by Li Peilin, Wu Baochao and Ye Zhenchao from Beijing while in the women's category, Li Xiongpan from Kunming, Yunnan, Song Chenxi from Beijing and Yan Ruohan from Beijing got into the top three, with the champion being rewarded the La Vuelta championship shirt.

On that day, five legendary riders namely Alberto Contador, Fabio Aru, Joaquim Rodriguez, Pedro Delgado and Nicolas Roche showed up at the event, which was a big surprise for cycling fans who cheered for them out loud.

(Source: Beijing Changping, Desafio China by La Vuelta-Beijing Changping)