Foreign Affairs Office of Beijing Municipal Government

[Overview] Tehran is the capital city of Iran. Located at the southern side of Mount Elbrus, the city covers an area of 700 square kilometers and has a population of 11 million.

[Politics] Tehran has is governed by the city council and the city government. The city council consists of 31 members for a term of four years, and the mayor is elected by the council for the same term of office. There are 22 districts under Tehran's administration. The incumbent Mayor Pirooz Hanachi took office in November 2018.

[Economy] Tehran is the center of Iran's economy, trade and services. Major industries of the city include automobiles, electronics, cement and building materials, foodstuff, textiles and garment, chemicals, and defense products.

[Culture and Education] As the educational and technological center of Iran, Tehran is home to the country's most prestigious universities, as well as a host of cultural centers, libraries, art galleries and museums. The city hosted the 7th Asian Games in 1974 and thus is the first city in the Middle East to have hosted the games.

[Relations with Beijing] Beijing and Tehran officially became sister cities on February 27, 2014.

The two sides have carried out friendly exchanges and cooperation in such areas as urban management and infrastructure construction. In February 2014, then Tehran Mayor Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf visited Beijing as was invited. During the visit, he met with leaders of Beijing and visited Beijing Municipal Transportation Operations Coordination Center and the exhibition hall of Zhongguancun Science Park. Beijing Urban Construction Group participated in the construction of Tehran subway lines 1, 2 and 4.