The People's Government of Beijing Municipality
Mayors' Profile Departments Administrative Districts Reports Laws & Policies
Beijing Info
Facts Culture Sister Cities Sci & Tech Videos
Most Requested Investing in Beijing Working in Beijing Studying in Beijing Living in Beijing Travelling in Beijing Consuming in Beijing
Contact Us
FAQs Jingjing Feedback Surveys
News Laws & Policies Photos Activities Specials


The Imperial College (Guo Zijian) [Photo via]

Dongcheng District is one of the core functional areas of Beijing and covers an area of 41.86 square kilometers. It governs 17 sub-district offices and 177 communities. By the end of 2019, Dongcheng District had a registered population of 0.988 million and a permanent population of 0.794 million, of which 0.154 million are permanent migrants.

Dongcheng District, located on the east side of the central axis of Beijing, is the central area of the ancient capitals of the Yuan, Ming, and Qing Dynasties. It has a history of more than 700 years and contains three world cultural heritage sites, the Forbidden City, the Temple of Heaven, and the Yuhe watercourse in the east section of the Grand Canal. The traditional 7.8 km central axis runs through the whole district, from Yongdingmen to the Bell and Drum Tower. The Temple of Heaven and the Temple of Earth add radiance and beauty to each other. It is the most concentrated area of historical relics, cultural relics, hutongs, and Siheyuan.

Dongcheng District integrates diversified cultures of the royal family, Buddhism, Confucianism, Sinology, Guildhall represented by the Forbidden City, the Temple of Heaven, the Yonghe Temple, the Confucius Temple, the Imperial College, the Temple of Earth, the Ming Dynasty Wall, the Qianmen Embrasured Watchtower, and the Yongdingmen Gate Tower, etc. Dongcheng District is also home to many intangible cultural heritages such as cloisonné artistry and lacquer engraving artistry, which embody the charm of the ancient imperial culture and folk culture.